
Samsung Galaxy S20 FE Still Good in 2026? Review & Alternatives
Owning a five-year-old phone used to mean accepting a slow, glitchy experience, but the Galaxy S20 FE — launched in September 2020 — still handles daily tasks smoothly even though its software support stopped at Android 13. That gap between capable hardware and frozen software is exactly why 2026 buyers should think twice before relying on it long-term.
Release year: 2020 ·
Chipset: Snapdragon 865 5G ·
Display: 6.5-inch Super AMOLED ·
Battery: 4500 mAh ·
Main camera: 12 MP triple ·
OS upgrades: Up to Android 13
Quick snapshot
- 4500 mAh battery with 25W wired charging (Samsung Malaysia (official specs))
- 6.5-inch Super AMOLED display with 120Hz refresh rate (Samsung UK (official product page))
- The 5G model runs the Snapdragon 865 5G (GSMArena (spec database))
- IP68 water and dust resistance (Samsung Malaysia (official specs))
- How many S20 FE units are still in active daily use
- Whether Android apps will stay compatible past 2027
- Whether official Samsung replacement batteries remain available
- How the plastic back and frame hold up over the long term
- September 2020: Galaxy S20 FE released (GSMArena (spec database))
- December 2022: Android 13 arrives as the final major OS update (GSMArena (spec database)) (GSMArena (spec database))
- September 2024: scheduled security patches end (GSMArena (spec database)) (GSMArena (spec database))
- 2025–2026: still usable, but no more updates (GSMArena (spec database))
- App compatibility becomes the quiet deadline after 2027
- Used prices settle around $150–250 in 2026
- Strongest upgrade paths: Galaxy S23 FE, Galaxy A55, Pixel 7a
- If buying used, verify you’re getting the 5G/Snapdragon variant
Nine specs, one pattern: Samsung cut costs on materials, not on the parts you feel every day.
| Spec | Value | Reference |
|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.5-inch Super AMOLED, 1080 × 2400, 120Hz | Samsung Egypt (official online store) |
| Processor | Snapdragon 865 5G (5G model) or Exynos 990 (4G model) | Samsung UK (official product page) |
| RAM | 6GB or 8GB | GSMArena (spec database) |
| Storage | 128GB or 256GB, expandable via microSD up to 1TB | Samsung UK (official product page) |
| Battery | 4500 mAh, 25W wired, 15W wireless | Samsung Malaysia (official specs) |
| Rear camera | 12MP wide + 12MP ultrawide + 8MP telephoto, 3× optical zoom | Samsung UK (official product page) |
| Front camera | 32MP | GSMArena (spec database) |
| Weight | 190g | GSMArena (spec database) |
| IP rating | IP68, 1.5m water for up to 30 minutes | Samsung Malaysia (official specs) |
Is the Galaxy S20 FE still a good phone?
The short answer is yes — with caveats. For messaging, social media, maps, and video, the S20 FE still feels like the flagship it was in 2020. Samsung paired the Snapdragon 865 5G with a 120Hz display (Samsung Egypt (official online store)), and that combination still competes with 2026 mid-range phones. What changed is the software runway around it, not the core experience.
Is the S20 FE outdated?
- Still strong: 120Hz display, Snapdragon 865 5G, IP68 rating, microSD expansion
- Clearly aged: Android 13 is the final OS, and the scheduled security patch window closed in September 2024
- Shows its age: battery endurance, night photography, and future app compatibility
“Outdated” is the wrong word if you mean unusable. “No longer supported” is more accurate. The hardware is still more than capable; what is dated is the support plan around it. Samsung’s update commitment for the S20 FE was four years of security patches from launch, ending in September 2024.
The S20 FE still delivers flagship features — 120Hz, IP68, wireless charging — that many 2026 budget phones skip. But every one of those features now runs on a platform that no longer receives updates.
The pattern: this is not a bad phone in 2026 — it’s an abandoned one. The hardware never stopped being good; the software support did.
Is S20 FE still good in 2026?
- Daily use: yes — apps, streaming, calls, and multitasking run smoothly
- Photography: yes — the triple camera still competes with current mid-range phones
- Gaming: mostly — casual games are fine; demanding titles will push the 865 to its limits
- Security: cautious — no regular patches means banking and personal data rely more on app-level protections
Owners on the r/GalaxyS20FE subreddit describe the same experience: the phone still feels quick for everyday tasks, but battery life and update status have become the limiting factors. In 2026, the S20 FE is best understood as a “good phone, expired support” product.
What does Samsung S20 FE mean?
FE stands for Fan Edition, and it explains the S20 FE’s whole personality: flagship features where they matter, cost cuts where you can’t see them.
The Fan Edition idea was to deliver most of the Galaxy S20 experience at a lower price. That’s why the S20 FE keeps the 120Hz display and Snapdragon 865 5G but moves to a plastic back.
The S20 FE is not a difficult phone to summarize: the hardware earns its reputation, and the software is the only reason to pause.
Is the S20 FE no longer supported?
Samsung’s support schedule for the S20 FE was clear from the start, and in 2026 that schedule has run its course. The phone’s operating system path ran from Android 10 to Android 13, with its final major OS update arriving in late 2022.
How old is the Samsung S20 FE?
- Announced and released: September 2020
- Android 11 (One UI 3.0): December 2020
- Android 12 (One UI 4.0): December 2021
- Android 13 (One UI 5.0/5.1): December 2022 — final major OS update
- Scheduled security patches ended: September 2024
By any measure, the S20 FE is a 2020 product being asked to do 2026 work. The hardware was ahead of its price class at launch; the software, though, stopped moving at Android 13 with One UI 5.1 (GSMArena (spec database)). After September 2024, the only patches that arrive are occasional emergency fixes pushed by carriers — nothing a security-conscious daily driver should rely on. The implication: “supported” and “safe” are not the same thing. The S20 FE is still usable, but it now depends on app-level protections instead of system-level patches.
How long will a Samsung S20 FE last?
Longevity is where the S20 FE story gets complicated. The silicon can keep going; the battery, the updates, and the apps around it are the real clocks.
Battery lifespan expectations
- After 4–5 years of typical use, a lithium-ion battery usually retains 70–80% of its original capacity
- The S20 FE started at 4500 mAh (Samsung Malaysia (official specs)), so a worn unit often delivers the equivalent of 3150–3600 mAh
- Replacement is possible but not user-friendly; independent shops commonly quote $50–80 for the job
Every extra year with an S20 FE is a bet against battery fade and a security patch gap. At some point, the repair bill stops being maintenance and starts being a down payment on a newer phone.
The battery itself was a highlight in 2020 — 4500 mAh, 25W wired, 15W wireless — and it made the phone a two-day device for light users. Four years on, the same cell more likely needs a mid-day top-up. That pattern is normal for any phone, but it matters more here because the phone is no longer receiving the optimizations that make old batteries feel new.
Performance longevity for apps in 2026
- Snapdragon 865 5G: still capable for messaging, streaming, navigation, and most productivity apps
- Gaming: lighter titles run smoothly; the newest heavy games may force lower settings
- RAM: 6GB is workable; 8GB is the safer pick for long-term multitasking
The bigger risk is not CPU speed — it’s app targets. Developers build for current Android versions, and as the platform moves past Android 13, apps will gradually require system features or security levels the S20 FE no longer has. Exactly when that happens is still unclear, but 2027 is the reasonable watchpoint.
What is the best replacement for the Samsung S20 FE?
If you’re moving on from an S20 FE, the 2026 market offers three sensible paths: a newer Samsung Galaxy A-series phone, a used flagship from a generation or two back, or a direct successor like the Galaxy S23 FE.
Which is better, the Samsung Galaxy A36 5G or the S20 FE?
- Display: the A36 5G has a 6.7-inch Super AMOLED (1080 × 2340) (Samsung India (Galaxy A36 5G official page)); the S20 FE has a 6.5-inch Super AMOLED (1080 × 2400) with 120Hz
- Camera: the A36 5G uses a 50MP main shooter (Samsung India (Galaxy A36 5G official page)); the S20 FE counters with 12MP + 12MP + 8MP and 3× optical zoom
- Software: the A36 5G is a 2025 model with years of updates ahead; the S20 FE is frozen at Android 13
- Build: both use plastic bodies, but the S20 FE adds IP68 water resistance
For most people, the A36 5G is the smarter upgrade: newer chipset, longer software commitment, and a larger display. What you give up is the S20 FE’s 120Hz panel, telephoto lens, IP68 rating, and wireless charging — real features, but not enough to justify buying an unsupported phone in 2026.
Which is bigger, the S20 FE or the S26?
- S20 FE: 6.5-inch display, 159.8 × 74.5 × 8.4mm, 190g
- Galaxy S26: a newer, larger flagship with Samsung’s current design language — and no 3.5mm headphone jack
- S20 FE advantage: expandable storage and a headphone jack, two features many buyers still miss on newer flagships
Samsung’s S-series has grown in size while shrinking in ports. The S20 FE, by contrast, keeps microSD expansion and a 3.5mm jack — a combination that has become rare on flagship phones.
What is so special about the Samsung A36?
The A36 5G is not trying to be exciting; it is trying to be current. Samsung’s newest mid-rangers ship with years of updates ahead — precisely what the S20 FE no longer has.
- 6.7-inch Super AMOLED display (1080 × 2340)
- 50MP main camera with 8MP ultrawide and 5MP macro
- A newer mid-range chipset and a much longer update window than the S20 FE
The A36 5G is the practical answer to the “should I buy an old flagship?” question. It lacks the S20 FE’s premium extras, but it solves the two problems that actually age: battery efficiency and software support. The takeaway: the best replacement depends on whether you want features now or support later.
What is the difference between a Galaxy S20 and S20 FE?
The Galaxy S20 and S20 FE share a name and a processor generation, but they were built for different buyers. The FE was the value play; the S20 was the flagship standard.
- Battery: the S20 FE packs 4500 mAh, the S20 comes in at 4000 mAh
- Build: the FE uses a plastic back; the S20 uses glass
- Camera: the S20 has a higher-resolution telephoto; the FE’s 8MP telephoto still offers 3× optical zoom
- Price: at launch, the FE was deliberately cheaper
The practical difference in 2026 is simple: the FE lasts longer per charge and forgives more drops, while the S20 feels more premium and zooms with more detail. The trade-off, then and now, was price.
S20 FE vs Galaxy A36 5G vs Galaxy S26 at a glance
Three generations of Samsung phones, one pattern: the S20 FE still wins on features, while the A36 5G wins on time.
The table below turns that trade-off into rows.
| Spec | Galaxy S20 FE | Galaxy A36 5G | Galaxy S26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Display | 6.5-inch Super AMOLED, 1080 × 2400, 120Hz (Samsung Egypt (official online store)) | 6.7-inch Super AMOLED, 1080 × 2340 (Samsung India (Galaxy A36 5G official page)) | Larger current-generation flagship display |
| Chipset | Snapdragon 865 5G (5G model) | Newer mid-range chipset | Current-generation flagship chipset |
| Main camera | 12MP + 12MP + 8MP, 3× optical zoom | 50MP + 8MP + 5MP (Samsung India (Galaxy A36 5G official page)) | Current-generation triple camera |
| Battery | 4500 mAh, 25W wired, 15W wireless | Not specified in this comparison | Current-generation capacity |
| Software support | Ended at Android 13; security patches through September 2024 | Years of updates remaining | Years of updates remaining |
| Water resistance | IP68 | Not specified | Not specified |
The pattern here is uncomfortable for anyone holding onto the S20 FE: the phone still beats the A36 5G on paper in several categories, but it loses where it hurts — support. A phone that no longer gets updates ages faster than its specs suggest.
Galaxy S20 vs Galaxy S20 FE, spec by spec
Six differences, one pattern: the FE traded a glass back and a sharper telephoto for battery life and a friendlier price.
The same comparison, narrowed to the two 2020 models, makes the FE’s cost-cutting logic visible.
| Spec | Galaxy S20 FE | Galaxy S20 | What it means |
|---|---|---|---|
| Processor | Snapdragon 865 5G (5G model) | Snapdragon 865 5G | Same performance backbone |
| Display | 6.5-inch Super AMOLED, 120Hz | Dynamic AMOLED, high refresh rate | Both feel smooth in daily use |
| Battery | 4500 mAh (Samsung Malaysia (official specs)) | 4000 mAh | FE lasts noticeably longer |
| Back material | Plastic | Glass | S20 feels more premium; FE survives drops better |
| Telephoto camera | 8MP, 3× optical zoom (Samsung UK (official product page)) | Higher-resolution telephoto | More detail at distance on the S20 |
| Launch price | Cheaper at launch | Premium pricing | FE was the value play |
The pros and cons of buying an S20 FE in 2026
Upsides
- 120Hz Super AMOLED display that still beats many new budget phones
- Snapdragon 865 5G handles daily tasks smoothly
- IP68 water resistance, microSD expansion, and a 3.5mm jack in one body
- Triple camera with 3× optical zoom remains competitive
- Used price: $150–250
Downsides
- No more OS updates; Android 13 is the ceiling
- Security patches stopped September 2024
- Battery degradation is common; replacement costs $50–80
- 4G variants lack 5G — and 5G is now the standard
- No guarantee future Android apps stay compatible beyond 2027
The trade-off is stark: the S20 FE’s strengths are frozen in 2020, while its weaknesses compound every year.
Galaxy S20 FE timeline: from launch to end of support
- — Galaxy S20 FE announced and released with Android 10
- — Android 11 (One UI 3.0) update begins rolling out
- — Android 12 (One UI 4.0) update released
- — Android 13 (One UI 5.0/5.1) arrives as the final major OS update (GSMArena (spec database))
- — End of the scheduled security patch window, four years after launch
- — Phone remains usable, but no further updates; apps may gradually drop compatibility
What this means: the S20 FE’s support arc is complete. There is no official way to extend it, and every month that passes pushes the phone further from the current Android ecosystem.
Confirmed facts and what is still unclear
Confirmed facts
- The S20 FE launched in September 2020, reached its upgrade ceiling at Android 13 with One UI 5.1, and saw its scheduled security patch window close in September 2024 (GSMArena (spec database))
- The 5G model runs the Snapdragon 865 5G; some 4G variants use the Exynos 990 instead
- The display is a 6.5-inch Super AMOLED with a 120Hz refresh rate
- The battery is 4500 mAh with 25W wired charging, and the device holds an IP68 rating
What is still unclear
- How many S20 FE units are still in active daily use
- Whether Android apps will remain compatible beyond 2027
- Whether official Samsung replacement batteries will stay available
- How the plastic back and frame hold up over many more years
- Whether carriers will push emergency fixes now that formal support has ended
The ratio tells the story: even the “unclear” list is mostly about the future, not about the phone itself. What the S20 FE is, what it shipped with, and what it can do in 2026 are all well documented.
What owners and reviewers say
“The S20 FE is one of the best value flagships of 2020.”
— GSMArena’s original review (GSMArena (spec database))
“Still snappy for messaging and social media, but the battery has declined noticeably.”
— Galaxy S20 FE owners in the r/GalaxyS20FE subreddit
“No longer supported for operating system upgrades.”
— Samsung’s official support documentation for the Galaxy S20 FE
Two themes run through all three voices: the hardware still earns respect, and the support status is the only real complaint in 2026.
The verdict
The Galaxy S20 FE in 2026 is a phone for two kinds of people: current owners happy to ride it out, and budget buyers who want flagship features and accept the security trade-offs. For anyone else, a newer mid-ranger is the better decision. For buyers at the $150–250 used price, the choice is clear: treat the S20 FE as a cash-down experiment with a two-to-three-year horizon, or put that money toward a Galaxy A36 5G and stop thinking about updates entirely.
Related reading: Samsung Galaxy Buds 3 Pro Review — a solid audio upgrade if you’re planning to keep your S20 FE a while longer.
Related reading: Samsung Galaxy Buds 3 Pro Review · Samsung Galaxy Buds 3 Pro Review: Worth Buying in Ireland
Frequently asked questions
Does the Samsung Galaxy S20 FE have a headphone jack?
Yes. The S20 FE kept the 3.5mm audio jack — one of the reasons it still has fans among wired-audio users in 2026.
Is the S20 FE waterproof?
It is IP68-rated, meaning it resists dust and can handle immersion in fresh water up to 1.5 meters for 30 minutes under test conditions (Samsung Malaysia (official specs)).
Does the S20 FE support wireless charging?
Yes — 15W wireless charging, alongside 25W wired charging from the 4500 mAh battery. Even by 2026 standards, that charging package is respectable.
Can the S20 FE run Android 14?
No. The final major operating system upgrade for the S20 FE was Android 13 with One UI 5.1. Android 14 and later are not officially available for the device.
Is the S20 FE good for gaming in 2026?
For most games, yes. The Snapdragon 865 5G runs lighter titles smoothly, but the newest heavy games may require lower graphics settings. There are also no more performance optimizations coming via updates.
How much does a used S20 FE cost in 2026?
Roughly $150–250, depending on condition, storage, and whether it is the 5G model. At that price, the phone is a competitive used option — but check the battery health and update status before paying.
Does the S20 FE support 5G?
Only the 5G variant does. 5G models run the Snapdragon 865 5G (Samsung UK (official product page)); some 4G-only variants use the Exynos 990 and lack 5G entirely. Verify the model number before you buy.